About me

Hi,

My name is Çağatay. I studied Translation and Interpreting at Istanbul University and graduated in 2013. Studying in Istanbul opened up many job possibilities and I did take on various jobs, from ad-hoc tourism jobs to a 20-month full-time experience as an assistant project director at an international trade fair organisation company.

In 2012, I decided to freelance as a translator and apart from the 6-month military service and a year abroad in Belarus, that’s what I have been doing. While I initially started off focusing on legal and life sciences translation projects in the language combination Turkish-English, over time I started to work with creative translation, or localisation if you will, projects and from Russian into English/Turkish as well. These days I am working on two projects:

In Turkey, we refer to skills that one can use to make a living as “altın bilezik” (a golden bracelet). I think it was around 2014 that I decided I did not want to have just one, so I started to learn Python. Turns out I actually enjoy it, so every bit of spare time I have, I invest in learning to code and in developing hobby projects.

For the last few years, I have been working on a free and open-source CAT tool. There has been several iterations all implemented in their own way (a previous iteration resides here), but I now have a clear vision of how I want to handle this project. Details are available at kaplan.pro, if you’d like to read more.

Other than Python, I have so far experimented with Unity (see app) and Java Android development (see app) as well.

Best,

Where to find me

Email contact@csengor.com
GitHub https://github.com/csengor
LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/in/csengor
ProZ https://www.proz.com/translator/1274581